ArcoLinux -D -B 19.5 iso's have been released

[SOLVED]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

First check the forums - Do not know where to put it then put it here
User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2233
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by erikdubois » Sat Dec 15, 2018 12:16 am

sounds like a plan - previous post
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
TomInTheDungeon
Crewman
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Paul, Idaho, USA
United States of America
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by TomInTheDungeon » Sat Dec 15, 2018 12:29 am

Thanks, but same thing...changed resolution, screen edges still not able to be seen. I guess I'm just stuck with 1360 x 768.
Thanks for your efforts!
From "The Orville": Humans - The hillbillies of the universe!

beisic
Crewman
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 10:43 am
Russia
Re: [Solved]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by beisic » Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:34 am

TomInTheDungeon wrote:
Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:34 pm
I'm running ArcoLinux with a 39" Emerson HD TV with HDMI as a monitor, which will support 1920 x 1080. The problem is that I need to reset the resolution to 1360 x 768 in order to be able to see the top and bottom of the desktop, which I know how do. What do I need to do, if it is even possible, to use 1920 x 1080 resolution, and see the whole desktop?
Your TV maintains the correct 16: 9 aspect ratio (HD 720p 1280 × 720)

Try the command:

Code: Select all

sudo xrandr  --output HDMI-0  --mode 1280x720 --rate 60
16:9 (Try everything)
1280x720
1360x768
1366x768
1600x900
1920x1080

User avatar
TomInTheDungeon
Crewman
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Paul, Idaho, USA
United States of America
Re: [Solved]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by TomInTheDungeon » Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:44 pm

Still pushes the screen past the viewing limit. Changing to 1:8, 1:16 or 1:4 doesn't make any difference. As I said, this is an inconsequential problem, I just wondered if there was a setting to move the edges closer to the middle to be able to view the whole desktop.
I have tried all the other settings, and was rewarded with "This setting is not supported" and a black screen, or the desktop off the edges and barely visible. 1360 x 768 is the only setting supported that the whole desktop is visible.
But, REALLY, thanks for your effort!
From "The Orville": Humans - The hillbillies of the universe!

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2233
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [Solved]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by erikdubois » Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:03 pm

We try ... :?
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
TomInTheDungeon
Crewman
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Paul, Idaho, USA
United States of America
Re: [SOLVED]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by TomInTheDungeon » Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:01 pm

Heavy thought and persistence!
I was finally able to figure out how to be able to see MOST of the screen edges. Although not perfect, it's usable. I had to move Plank from the left side to the top, and increase the size of the icons. I changed the conky config X gap to get it out of the right side. The panel on the bottom had to have the height increased.
The screenshot somehow shows the whole screen, but Plank and the Panel are only 75% visible on the TV screen.
Screenshot below:
Image
From "The Orville": Humans - The hillbillies of the universe!


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions”