[OPEN] How should I set up a Nas on ArcoLinux

First check the forums - Do not know where to put it then put it here
Post Reply
Mind_
Crewman
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:12 pm
Location: WI, USA

[OPEN] How should I set up a Nas on ArcoLinux

Post by Mind_ »

I'm not sure where to post this, so...

Is it possible to set up a home-brew NAS with ArcoLinux? I would assume so, as you can do the same with CentOS or Debian.

I plan to have the following:

2x 3TB HDDs (WD GREEN)
2x 640GB HDDs (WD BLUE)
1x 320GB HDD (WD BLUE) -Had another one, but it died a month ago, sadly. :(

So I want to RAID1 the 2x pair of drives above. But I'm not sure how to RAID it. I prefer software over hardware RAID.

Of course I will need SAMBA/CFS for all systems in the house can see it.

But I'm not sure how to apply that... Pointers, Erik? Others?

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3337
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] How should I set up a Nas on ArcoLinux

Post by erikdubois »

No pointers from me...
Anyone else.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

Mind_
Crewman
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:12 pm
Location: WI, USA

Re: [OPEN] How should I set up a Nas on ArcoLinux

Post by Mind_ »

No one?

User avatar
Nologo
Crewman
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 12:24 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] How should I set up a Nas on ArcoLinux

Post by Nologo »

Hi Mind,

Few hits on a search for archlinux NAS
Found youtube clip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wKdGg1_lf1Q

Maby helps a bit, good luck. :D

I use Synology works like a charm, and testing Freenas.

Let me know how you proceed with NAS on Arcolinux :geek:

Br
/Nologo

Post Reply

Return to “General Questions”