ArcoLinux -D -B 19.5 iso's have been released

[OPEN] Apps won't launch in assigned workspaces

Post Reply
Poetician
Crewman
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:00 pm
Canada
[OPEN] Apps won't launch in assigned workspaces

Post by Poetician » Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:52 pm

I've installed Thunderbird to replace Evolution, and Google Earth in the last day. I've set and assigned them workspaces as follows using font-awesome fonts and copy/pasting from my i3 Mint config:
set $ws1 "1 Firefox "
set $ws2 "2 File Manager "
set $ws3 "3 Media "
set $ws4 "4 Kdenlive "
set $ws5 "5 Writer "
set $ws6 "6 Gimp "
set $ws7 "7 Thunderbird "
set $ws8 "8 Google Earth "
set $ws9 "9"
set $ws0 "10"
assign [class="Firefox"] "1 Firefox "
assign [class="Thunar"] "2 File Manager "
assign [class="Cherrytree"] "2 File Manager "
assign [class="libreoffice"] "5 Writer "
assign [class="kdenlive"] "4 Kdenlive "
assign [class="Rhythmbox"] "3 Media "
assign [class="vlc"] "3 Media "
assign [class="GNU Image Manipulation Program"] "6 Gimp "
assign [class="Mozilla Thunderbird"] "7 Thunderbird "
assign [class="Google Earth Pro"] "8 Google Earth "
The behavior is like a loop some commands are stuck in. Gimp, Thunderbird, and Google Earth all load in ws1 as set above, not their respective assigned workspaces. When I modkey them to their assigned workspaces, they go to "6" "7" and "8" respectively. When I switch workspaces by modkey I go to the workspaces as I've configured them, with 6,7, and 8 also live.

Not getting any errors, just not the correct results. I'm sure I'll come up with better one's, but this is the puzzle I have for now...
HP-Compaq 8000 SFF Core2Duo 3.06 GHz 16 GB WD Black 1 TB Radeon 5450

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2345
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] Apps won't launch in assigned workspaces

Post by erikdubois » Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:07 pm

It is important to put a topic in the right forum.

We have many tiling window managers.

Can you move or repost it?
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2345
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] Apps won't launch in assigned workspaces

Post by erikdubois » Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:08 pm

I have read it is an i3 now ;-) - best move it there
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.


Post Reply

Return to “Installation of Software (pacman, AUR, ...)”