ArcoLinux -D -B 19.1 iso's have been released

[SOLVED]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

First check the forums - Do not know where to put it then put it here
User avatar
TomInTheDungeon
Crewman
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:39 pm
Location: Paul, Idaho, USA
United States of America
[SOLVED]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by TomInTheDungeon » Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:34 pm

I'm running ArcoLinux with a 39" Emerson HD TV with HDMI as a monitor, which will support 1920 x 1080. The problem is that I need to reset the resolution to 1360 x 768 in order to be able to see the top and bottom of the desktop, which I know how do. What do I need to do, if it is even possible, to use 1920 x 1080 resolution, and see the whole desktop?
Last edited by TomInTheDungeon on Fri Dec 14, 2018 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
From "The Orville": Humans - The hillbillies of the universe!

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 1686
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by erikdubois » Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:58 am

What iso are you using and what desktop?
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
and only then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
TomInTheDungeon
Crewman
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:39 pm
Location: Paul, Idaho, USA
United States of America
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by TomInTheDungeon » Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:15 pm

ArcoLinux v18.10.4 , xfce
From "The Orville": Humans - The hillbillies of the universe!

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 1686
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by erikdubois » Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:30 pm

What can the settings manager of xfce do for you?



Or else xrandr, arandr - start it in a terminal
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
and only then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
TomInTheDungeon
Crewman
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:39 pm
Location: Paul, Idaho, USA
United States of America
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by TomInTheDungeon » Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:07 pm

Tried that, only changes resolution, does nothing to make the desktop fit on the screen. I made some screenshots, but they showed the areas I can't see on the monitor. I have the ArcoLinux Button on the bottom left corner, the list of open windows, the workspaces, and the update icon, sound icon, and time across the bottom of the screen. These are not shown when in 1920 x 1080 resolution, they are below the edge of the screen. Also, I have Plank on the left, and that is off the left edge of the screen.
As I said, this resolution is inconsequential, everything works just fine at 1360 x 728. Just wondered if the higher resolution was possible.
Last edited by TomInTheDungeon on Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
From "The Orville": Humans - The hillbillies of the universe!

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 1686
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by erikdubois » Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:31 pm

I remember that on some of the remotes of your television you can select the size.

Do you have such a remote?

Or can you go and see in the settings of your tv?

Is it connected via hdmi? I would do that...
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
and only then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
TomInTheDungeon
Crewman
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:39 pm
Location: Paul, Idaho, USA
United States of America
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by TomInTheDungeon » Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:34 pm

Yes, I do, and I do have it on HDMI. The computer changes the TV screen size, and I need to change it back to watch the TV. The TV screen size does not change the computer monitor screen size.
From "The Orville": Humans - The hillbillies of the universe!

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 1686
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by erikdubois » Fri Dec 14, 2018 8:27 pm

oh yes
have you tried arandr?
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
and only then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
TomInTheDungeon
Crewman
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:39 pm
Location: Paul, Idaho, USA
United States of America
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by TomInTheDungeon » Fri Dec 14, 2018 8:56 pm

Just tried arandr, same result. 1920 x 1080 puts the viewing area past the edges of the monitor. Also tried changing the 1:8 to 1:4 and 1:16. Still the same.
I don't know if this will help any, but here is the output from xrandr:

[tom@Big ~]$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1360 x 768, maximum 16384 x 16384
VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-D-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 connected primary 1360x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
1920x1080 60.00 + 59.94 30.00 29.97 24.00 23.98 60.00
1680x1050 59.95
1440x900 59.89
1400x1050 59.98
1360x768 60.02*
1280x1024 60.02
1280x768 59.99
1280x720 60.00 59.94
1024x768 60.00
800x600 60.32
720x480 59.94
640x480 59.94 59.93
From "The Orville": Humans - The hillbillies of the universe!

beisic
Crewman
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:43 am
Russia
Re: [OPEN]Inconsequential Resolution Problem

Post by beisic » Fri Dec 14, 2018 11:07 pm

Try the command:

Code: Select all

sudo xrandr  --output HDMI-0  --mode 1920x1080 --rate 60


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions”