[OPEN] ArchoLinuxB Hyprland fails with package manager error

Post Reply
gebeer
recruit crewman
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 07, 2023 4:38 am

Hello,

I'm new here but not to Arch Linux. Been on Arch for more then 7 years. And working solely with Linux for the last 20 years as a web dev.

I thought I'd try ArcoLinuxB Hyprland on my 8 year old Asus Zenbook UX305 Intel Core i7 with onboard graphics adapter. This machine has been running on Arch for the last 5 years or so without issues.

Install with arcolinuxb-hyprland-v23.05.04-x86_64.iso

Towards the end of the installation I get this error:

Code: Select all

package manager error the package manager could not prepare updates the command pacman returned error code 1
I tried both the advanced installation and the simple one. Same error on both.

I'm wondering why pacman would want to prepare updates on the simple install from ISO. Is it because I activated a wifi connection through wpa_supplicant before the install?

Anyways, I'd love to run this on my hardware especially since the live system worked pretty well. Any help would be much appreciated. If I can supply any more info, please let me know.
User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 5884
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

It seems you can boot into the live environment

Type "probe" in a terminal and send us the link.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.
User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 5884
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Users from countries or isps that block peoples download will have issues.

Vpn is the only solution afterwards and easy installation works.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.
User avatar
fennec
Ensign
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2022 9:54 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

This has been reported before.
See https://www.arcolinuxforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=3522

Summary:
Carry out the following on the live iso.
- check the calamares session log inside /root/.cache/calamares/session.log
- check you can do a simple pacman update

Code: Select all

 pacman -Sy 
Like Erik mentioned there may be something restricting your network accessing certain mirrors, and inevitably Pacman complains saying it can't connect.
Post Reply

Return to “Installation issues of ArcoLinuxB iso”