[SOLVED] After ArcolinuxB plasma installation, no accents

Post Reply
rquin66
Crewman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2023 8:09 pm

I've installed ArcolinuxB plasma. Everything went fine (I got rid of the dark theme as soon as I could, although dark themes seem to be very popular nowadays).
My locale is LANG=ca_ES.UTF-8. My language, Catalan, uses some accented vowels à. é, è, í, ó, ò, ú together with ï and ü.
However, I can't write any accented vowel in Kate or the terminal (i.e to answer yes "Sí" to a question). I only get unaccented vowels.
How can this problem be solved? I have 9 more partitions in my hard drive with other linux distros installed, almost all of them with plasma, and this problem doesn't exist (except in Nobara linux).
Thanks all in advance,
User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 5353
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Compare with the other distros.

Probably the choice of your language.

If there are other Arch Linux based systems on your other partitions then you can even compare better.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.
rquin66
Crewman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2023 8:09 pm

Hi Eric and thanks for your response.

I have in my partitions the following distros (30GB dedicated to each):
  • Opensuse Tumbleweed
  • KDE Neon
  • Ubuntu mate
  • Nobara
  • Ubuntu (gnome)
  • Manjaro
  • Arcolinux
  • Endeavour OS
  • Reborn OS
  • Kubuntu
All of them, except Arcolinux and Nobara (and I checked Fedora has this flaw, too) admit accented vowels in kate and other editing applications.

I'll keep searching, and will inform you if I find a solution.
User avatar
fennec
Crewman
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2022 9:54 pm

What is inside the file /etc/locale.conf ?

https://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?t=110050

Additionally, verify your $HOME/.config/plasma-localerc file is aligned correctly, perhaps compare this against a working system.
rquin66
Crewman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2023 8:09 pm

Hi Fennec,

My /etc/locale.conf was OK, just the same as in y other linux partitions:

LANG=ca_ES.UTF-8
LC_ADDRESS=ca_ES.UTF-8
LC_IDENTIFICATION=ca_ES.UTF-8
LC_MEASUREMENT=ca_ES.UTF-8
LC_MONETARY=ca_ES.UTF-8
LC_NAME=ca_ES.UTF-8
LC_NUMERIC=ca_ES.UTF-8
LC_PAPER=ca_ES.UTF-8
LC_TELEPHONE=ca_ES.UTF-8
LC_TIME=ca_ES.UTF-8

The problem was in $HOME/.config/plasma-localerc. When I installed the system, I chose "Valencian" as my dialectal variant of Catalan and this file contained these two lines:

[Formats]
LANG=ca_ES@Valencia

Changing the second line to the standard language:

LANG=ca_ES.UTF-8

... solved the problem.

Thanks very much!

P.D. In some cases I've noticed that, upon installation, Calamares does not format the /etc/locale.conf file well. The first line is set to Catalan but the others are a mix of Spanish and English. But well, that can be solved easily.
User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 5353
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Thanks for sharing your knowledge back with us.

I am sure we can help more users with the information.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.
Post Reply

Return to “BYOI Any ArcoLinuxB”