ArcoLinux -D -B 19.5 iso's have been released

[SOLVED] Unable to login to any non-root user after fresh install.

Post Reply
vasanthdeveloper
Crewman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:10 pm
India
[SOLVED] Unable to login to any non-root user after fresh install.

Post by vasanthdeveloper » Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:21 pm

Hello, I have been installing Arch Linux at least 3 times a day from the past month. But recently, after freshly installing Arch Linux, I am unable to login to any of the non-root user accounts. Please guide me on what I am doing wrong.

Here are the files required:
1. Passwd File:
2. Shadow File:
3. Complete Output From journalctl:

I am actually making an automated installer for Arch Linux, here is the project link: https://github.com/vasanthdeveloper/arch-loop.
Last edited by vasanthdeveloper on Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2015
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] Unable to login to any non-root user after fresh install.

Post by erikdubois » Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:08 pm

I am reading non-root as in a regular user then check this tutorial where we add a user to the system.

https://arcolinuxd.com/6-the-actual-ins ... x-phase-2/

vasanth is my erik account
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

vasanthdeveloper
Crewman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:10 pm
India
Re: [OPEN] Unable to login to any non-root user after fresh install.

Post by vasanthdeveloper » Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:39 pm

I will check out the above-mentioned tutorial, and post the update in a few hours.

vasanthdeveloper
Crewman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:10 pm
India
Re: [OPEN] Unable to login to any non-root user after fresh install.

Post by vasanthdeveloper » Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:03 pm

Hey! thank you so much for help me recover a project that is stuck from a week. It worked!
I was adding "/usr/bin/bash" instead of adding "/bin/bash" as the shell.


Post Reply

Return to “Arch Way installation”