ArcoLinux -D -B 19.5 iso's have been released

[OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post Reply
User avatar
paulosilva159
Crewman
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:55 am
Brazil
[OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post by paulosilva159 » Wed May 02, 2018 2:59 am

Besides the name, when i open, for example, libreoffice writer and in there i choose to open an file, the windows that shows up is "bigger" than my screen. And the problem isn't related with Libreoffice only.

How can i solve this? In the config file?

User avatar
paulosilva159
Crewman
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:55 am
Brazil
[OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post by paulosilva159 » Wed May 02, 2018 3:02 am

Image
Image

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2345
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post by erikdubois » Wed May 02, 2018 6:27 am

We can not see the image.

use imgur and copy paste code over for forums
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

tiny_angel_in_a_jar
Crewman
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:04 pm
Bulgaria
Re: [OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post by tiny_angel_in_a_jar » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:48 pm

Think I also came across this issue. On the first pic (laptop, HD+ res) there's no extract button. I can tab enter it blindly at best. The second one is from my pc. I already think about replacing i3 on my laptop because of this.
Image
Image

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2345
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post by erikdubois » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:53 pm

Do you have a small resolution then on your laptop?
Like extra small.
Do not recognize this issue nor would I know to look where it could go wrong.
And this is just on i3?
How about xfce and openbox?
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2345
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post by erikdubois » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:54 pm

13th October there is a new release - who knows it helps.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

tiny_angel_in_a_jar
Crewman
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:04 pm
Bulgaria
Re: [OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post by tiny_angel_in_a_jar » Sun Oct 07, 2018 8:13 pm

Cool then, I'll wait and see if it's better in the next release :)
Had no issues with xfce before, the resolution is 1600x900.
Thanks for the instant response :)

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2345
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post by erikdubois » Sun Oct 07, 2018 8:51 pm

Your resolution is just fine.
Did you build it yourself or based on an iso?
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

Poetician
Crewman
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:00 pm
Canada
Re: [OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post by Poetician » Thu Sep 12, 2019 3:51 am

FWIW, I had a similar issue in kdenlive where the add text dialogue spilled over the edge of the screen in 1920x1080. $mod+Q and tried again, same issue. I don't recall exactly, though I believe I toggled full screen on and off and the window fit on the display as expected. I don't remember trying to move it to the scratchpad and back, but that's the other trick I'd try.
HP-Compaq 8000 SFF Core2Duo 3.06 GHz 16 GB WD Black 1 TB Radeon 5450

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2345
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] windows are bigger than my screen resolution in i3wm

Post by erikdubois » Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:11 am

We all have this issue IF we have a small laptop for example but I recall I was able to move the window around.

So when the enter or submit button or anything that is missing I could move it with a combination of keys.

Not sure what it was - instinctive fingermemory

try the right mouse click pressed in and then ctrl or super or shift.

there is a combo that works depending on the desktop you are on

but it is possible
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.


Post Reply

Return to “i3-wm”