ArcoLinux -D -B 19.11 has been released

[SOLVED] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

userx-bw
Crewman
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:51 am
United States of America
[SOLVED] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

Post by userx-bw » Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:33 am

this is arcolinux-v19.06.1.iso install, this did not do this on the prior version, geany not changing dir on tab change to a script in a different location.
this is putting the cd after the path giving me these messages in its terminal.

whos bug is this?

Code: Select all

[userx@arcomeo .config]$ /home/userx/bincd 
bash: /home/userx/bincd: No such file or directory
[userx@arcomeo .config]$ /media/data1cd 
bash: /media/data1cd: No such file or directory
[userx@arcomeo .config]$ /home/userx/bincd 
bash: /home/userx/bincd: No such file or directory
[userx@arcomeo .config]$ /media/data1cd 
bash: /media/data1cd: No such file or directory
[userx@arcomeo .config]$ 
i do should/need to go into slack and check its version of geany and see if it is doing the same thing.

Slackware geany version 1.34.1 changing dir works
Arco geany version 1.35 changing dir no work

I bet there is no way to change to the older version and put a hold on it , is there?
------------ UPDATE------
it cannot be geany I just removed it then put it in via source code, 1.34.1 and it is still doing it with this lesser version of geany. So by process of elimination it cannot be geany because that version works fine on a different distro of Linux.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2624
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

Post by erikdubois » Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:22 am

I think I still not get what you are trying to do.

I see the application geany and I see terminal output.

If you are trying to change to a directory in a terminal then you should add cd in front of it



But then why are you talking about geany.

So I think I do not get the question...

Can you elaborate?

Tell me exactly what steps to repeat on my computer.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

userx-bw
Crewman
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:51 am
United States of America
Re: [OPEN] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

Post by userx-bw » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:35 pm

erikdubois wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:22 am
I think I still not get what you are trying to do.

I see the application geany and I see terminal output.

If you are trying to change to a directory in a terminal then you should add cd in front of it



But then why are you talking about geany.

So I think I do not get the question...

Can you elaborate?

Tell me exactly what steps to repeat on my computer.
in geany under edit-> preferences where you set up the terminal options. this is selected and saved.
'Follow path of current file'
then open two different files in different locations, then click the tabs on each of them to see if it is following them (changing directories) in the terminal (automatically). To make it automatically switch to whatever dir the current file you have selected is in.

I just booted two lives usb sticks of these versions, before checking in here, because geany comes installed on both,
arcolinux-v19.06.1.iso geany ver 1.35
arcolinux-v19.05.2.iso geany 1.34
( I think those were the correct versions of geany on the iso)

I checked this changing dir the file is in operation in both versions, and they both operated as they should by switching to the dir that the file is in.

it is the installed version arcolinux-v19.06.1.iso that I have. For whatever reason after install it is not working as it should. so could it be by what ever device/method geany uses to change dir somewhere between the system and the app it is getting confused and issuing the cd after that dir path?

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2624
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

Post by erikdubois » Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:43 pm

I have never done any of this.

I will test it out when I can.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2624
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

Post by erikdubois » Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:34 pm

You have lost me after changing the preferences.

Clicking the tab does not anything. Should it open a terminal, should I open a terminal...

Have you installed a plugin...

We have the application peek to explain people something.
Super fun - animated gif.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

userx-bw
Crewman
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:51 am
United States of America
Re: [OPEN] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

Post by userx-bw » Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:34 pm

erikdubois wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:34 pm
You have lost me after changing the preferences.

Clicking the tab does not anything. Should it open a terminal, should I open a terminal...

Have you installed a plugin...

We have the application peek to explain people something.
Super fun - animated gif.
if you set your preferences in terminal to use it to follow path , like I explained. As long as vte is installed you get a terminal in geany and that is the one that it uses in your geany, if you've never used it, you have to pull it up to see the window, look for that little up down arrow to find the place you need to grab it with your mouse cursor. then pull it up far enough to see the terminal tab on the right side, click it, there is the terminal it uses.

I had to install vte-lagacy for the later version I installed using source. vte3 should work with geany 1.35. It really should not matter because geany is a default app that is installed with acrolinux. so it is always set up to have a terminal from what I've used.

Image

MOD:

I just went into geany preferences again and it has a spot where the user can tell it what shell to use. I changed it to /bin/zsh and it works like it is suppose to. so it (has?) to be a bash error of some sort that is causing it to not work?

MOD again --

hold on a minute, I am going to format both partitions and reinstall arco 19.06.1 again just to make sure everything including my home is clean from the start. Just to make sure it is not something I might have done without knowing.

---------- MOD last time -----------

I did that reinstall and it is for whatever its reasons WORKING!! woo hoo! now you can get to other things... thanks for your help... this can be closed.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2624
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [SOLVED] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

Post by erikdubois » Sat Jun 15, 2019 5:57 am

Thanks for the time to explain.

I was finally able to test it out.

Image

However it seems it works here out of the box.

No extra installations.

Just the preference to follow the path in geany.
I am using bash.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2624
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [SOLVED] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

Post by erikdubois » Sat Jun 15, 2019 6:07 am

A new package for geany has been created with this new code in it

follow_path=true

Enjoy

https://arcolinux.info/arcolinux-beta-editions/
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

userx-bw
Crewman
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:51 am
United States of America
Re: [SOLVED] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

Post by userx-bw » Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:40 pm

erikdubois wrote:
Sat Jun 15, 2019 6:07 am
A new package for geany has been created with this new code in it

follow_path=true

Enjoy

https://arcolinux.info/arcolinux-beta-editions/
Okay how do I get that, (said before looking) because after some updates to the system it is back to doing it again. so let me go figure out what you just told me.

userx-bw
Crewman
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:51 am
United States of America
Re: [SOLVED] geany no longer correctly working in arco ver 19.06.1 installation

Post by userx-bw » Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:40 pm

userx-bw wrote:
Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:40 pm
erikdubois wrote:
Sat Jun 15, 2019 6:07 am
A new package for geany has been created with this new code in it

follow_path=true

Enjoy

https://arcolinux.info/arcolinux-beta-editions/
Okay how do I get that, (said before looking) because after some updates to the system it is back to doing it again, just now. So let me go figure out what you just told me.

ps, thanks for the shout out!
MOD -- do I need to remove geany and reinstall it?
because
Image
it is set as you said and for what ever reason it is no longer working again. where it was until I just did an update of three packages and one was atom I remember, and two other ones, then I opened geany to do something that is when I noticed it no longer working.


Post Reply

Return to “Xfce-4”