ArcoLinux -D -B 6.9.2 are online

Fresh Install of Arco Linux B No Sound

Audio/Video/Image issues, playback, creation and editing. Also for games support and discussion.
Post Reply
Ztcoracat
recruit crewman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:46 pm
United States of America
Fresh Install of Arco Linux B No Sound

Post by Ztcoracat » Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:56 pm

Hi:

I just did a fresh installation of Arco Linux yesterday and I do not have any sound.

I opened the terminal and ran alsamixer and unmuted the front mic. However I still don't have any sound.
Not sure how to install pavucontrol and if that's the answer or not?

I'm not sure what needs to be done to get the sound working.
Can someone give me a hand getting the sound to work?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance. ;)

User avatar
darknetmatrix
Captain
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:47 pm
Contact:
Belgium
Re: Fresh Install of Arco Linux B No Sound

Post by darknetmatrix » Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:45 am

Try this:
pacman -S alsa-utils
Then fire up alsamixer with
alsamixer
Go to 'Master' then press M and then keep hitting the up key to bring the sound levels up. I do that for any other inputs I want like pcm etc.

Then do
speaker-test -c2


with the number being how many channels you want to test. You should hear static from each channel in turn.
linux user # 527315
I never lose. Either I win, or I learn.

Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

Ztcoracat
recruit crewman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:46 pm
United States of America
Re: Fresh Install of Arco Linux B No Sound

Post by Ztcoracat » Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:21 am

I tried all of your instructions.

Still no sound:-

My sound card is a SB HDA ATI SV ALC888.

I also tried disabling pulseaudio ( changing autospawn = no ) in the /etc.pulse/client.conf rebooted and still no sound.


Post Reply

Return to “Multimedia and Games”