[OPEN] GParted not opening / SDDM not requiring password

First check the forums - Do not know where to put it then put it here
Post Reply
User avatar
AlienProber
Crewman
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2020 4:14 pm

[OPEN] GParted not opening / SDDM not requiring password

Post by AlienProber »

I went to launch GParted and it would not launch, so I tried through Konsol and got.

Code: Select all

[alienprober@TheMothership ~]$ gparted
localuser:root being added to access control list
Error executing command as another user: Not authorized

This incident has been reported.
localuser:root being removed from access control list
[alienprober@TheMothership ~]$ 
I then attempted to run it with sudo and it rand, but I got the below.

Code: Select all

[alienprober@TheMothership ~]$ sudo gparted
[sudo] password for alienprober: 
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
GParted 1.1.0
configuration --enable-libparted-dmraid --enable-online-resize
libparted 3.3
Decided to test root by opening System Settings and going to SDDM and changing the login screen, and when I did I was not asked for the password. Any idea of what might be causing this issue? I've even done a reboot to see if that rectify the issue, but it didn't. Thanks

Code: Select all

[alienprober@TheMothership ~]$ inxi -Fxxxa
System:
  Host: TheMothership Kernel: 5.10.5-arch1-1 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 10.2.0 
  parameters: BOOT_IMAGE=/@/boot/vmlinuz-linux 
  root=UUID=d9814bac-d116-4320-895a-13eb80f2bcf4 rw rootflags=subvol=@ quiet 
  loglevel=3 audit=0 
  Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.20.5 tk: Qt 5.15.2 wm: kwin_x11 dm: SDDM 
  Distro: ArcoLinux 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING v: Rev 1.xx 
  serial: <superuser required> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 3103 
  date: 06/17/2020 
Battery:
  Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech Wireless Mouse M325 
  serial: 4094-d8-1f-cd-00 charge: 55% (should be ignored) rechargeable: yes 
  status: Discharging 
  Device-2: hidpp_battery_1 model: Logitech Wireless Keyboard K360 
  serial: 4004-fb-f0-fa-f4 charge: 100% (should be ignored) rechargeable: yes 
  status: Discharging 
CPU:
  Info: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 3 3200G with Radeon Vega Graphics bits: 64 
  type: MCP arch: Zen/Zen+ note: check family: 17 (23) model-id: 18 (24) 
  stepping: 1 microcode: 8108109 L2 cache: 2 MiB 
  flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm 
  bogomips: 28759 
  Speed: 2522 MHz min/max: 1400/3600 MHz boost: enabled Core speeds (MHz): 
  1: 2522 2: 1950 3: 2697 4: 2761 
  Vulnerabilities: Type: itlb_multihit status: Not affected 
  Type: l1tf status: Not affected 
  Type: mds status: Not affected 
  Type: meltdown status: Not affected 
  Type: spec_store_bypass 
  mitigation: Speculative Store Bypass disabled via prctl and seccomp 
  Type: spectre_v1 
  mitigation: usercopy/swapgs barriers and __user pointer sanitization 
  Type: spectre_v2 mitigation: Full AMD retpoline, IBPB: conditional, STIBP: 
  disabled, RSB filling 
  Type: srbds status: Not affected 
  Type: tsx_async_abort status: Not affected 
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA TU116 [GeForce GTX 1650 SUPER] vendor: eVga.com. 
  driver: nvidia v: 460.32.03 alternate: nouveau,nvidia_drm bus ID: 01:00.0 
  chip ID: 10de:2187 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.10 compositor: kwin_x11 driver: nvidia 
  display ID: :0 screens: 1 
  Screen-1: 0 s-res: 2560x1080 s-dpi: 97 s-size: 670x283mm (26.4x11.1") 
  s-diag: 727mm (28.6") 
  Monitor-1: HDMI-0 res: 2560x1080 hz: 60 dpi: 97 size: 673x284mm (26.5x11.2") 
  diag: 730mm (28.8") 
  OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GTX 1650 SUPER/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 460.32.03 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: NVIDIA TU116 High Definition Audio vendor: eVga.com. 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.1 chip ID: 10de:1aeb 
  Device-2: AMD Family 17h HD Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel 
  v: kernel bus ID: 0a:00.6 chip ID: 1022:15e3 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.10.5-arch1-1 
Network:
  Device-1: Intel I211 Gigabit Network vendor: ASUSTeK driver: igb v: kernel 
  port: d000 bus ID: 04:00.0 chip ID: 8086:1539 
  IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: a8:5e:45:55:75:ae 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 16.38 TiB used: 8.25 TiB (50.4%) 
  SMART Message: Unable to run smartctl. Root privileges required. 
  ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 maj-min: 259:0 model: Viper M.2 VPN100 size: 238.47 GiB 
  block size: physical: 512 B logical: 512 B speed: 31.6 Gb/s lanes: 4 
  serial: 03850703115D02277096 rev: ECFM22.6 temp: 28.9 C 
  ID-2: /dev/sda maj-min: 8:0 vendor: Western Digital model: WD10EARS-00Y5B1 
  size: 931.51 GiB block size: physical: 512 B logical: 512 B speed: 3.0 Gb/s 
  serial: WD-WMAV50658132 rev: 0A80 
  ID-3: /dev/sdb maj-min: 8:16 vendor: Seagate model: ST3000DM001-1E6166 
  size: 2.73 TiB block size: physical: 4096 B logical: 512 B speed: 6.0 Gb/s 
  serial: Z1F62Z3P rev: SC48 
  ID-4: /dev/sdc maj-min: 8:32 type: USB vendor: Seagate model: Expansion 
  size: 1.82 TiB block size: physical: 4096 B logical: 512 B serial: NA8GZQRG 
  rev: 9300 
  ID-5: /dev/sdd maj-min: 8:48 type: USB vendor: Seagate 
  model: ST8000AS0002-1NA17Z size: 7.28 TiB block size: physical: 4096 B 
  logical: 512 B serial: Z840SEE0 rev: 9401 
  ID-6: /dev/sde maj-min: 8:64 type: USB vendor: MediaMax model: WL3000GSA6454 
  size: 3.41 TiB block size: physical: 4096 B logical: 512 B 
  serial: WOL240401327 
Partition:
  ID-1: / raw size: 136.59 GiB size: 136.59 GiB (100.00%) 
  used: 53.4 GiB (39.1%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/nvme0n1p4 maj-min: 259:4 
  ID-2: /boot/efi raw size: 500 MiB size: 499 MiB (99.80%) used: 560 KiB (0.1%) 
  fs: vfat dev: /dev/nvme0n1p3 maj-min: 259:3 
  ID-3: /home raw size: 136.59 GiB size: 136.59 GiB (100.00%) 
  used: 53.4 GiB (39.1%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/nvme0n1p4 maj-min: 259:4 
Swap:
  Alert: No Swap data was found. 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 50.9 C mobo: N/A gpu: nvidia temp: 37 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: nvidia fan: 0% 
Info:
  Processes: 363 Uptime: 1h 01m wakeups: 33 Memory: 15.62 GiB 
  used: 5.64 GiB (36.1%) Init: systemd v: 247 target: graphical.target 
  Compilers: gcc: 10.2.0 clang: 11.0.0 Packages: 1881 pacman: 1834 lib: 436 
  flatpak: 42 snap: 5 Shell: Bash v: 5.1.4 running in: konsole inxi: 3.2.01
https://www.linuxquestions.org/question ... ost6205420
Greetings Humans, I Come In Peace, Now Bend Over.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3755
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] GParted not opening / SDDM not requiring password

Post by erikdubois »

Can you provide the probe link then we start analyzing?
Loving this...

Copy / paste from discord rules

After checking there is no such issue posted on the forum you create a new post in the correct forum. Give us the following elements at least.
- what iso are you using - type' iso' in the terminal and copy paste that in the post between tags in the forum post
- type 'inxi -b' in a terminal and copy/paste the code between tags in the forum post
- type 'probe' in a terminal and provide us the link
- what graphical drivers have you installed
- on what desktop does the error occur
- is that system up to date - go to TTY (CTRL + ALT + F2 or in VIrtualbox RIght CTRL + F2) and type 'update' and reboot first
- why do you think you have an issue - previous actions can explain the current issue


I am missing probe and the iso/desktop I guess
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
AlienProber
Crewman
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2020 4:14 pm

Re: [OPEN] GParted not opening / SDDM not requiring password

Post by AlienProber »

https://linux-hardware.org/?probe=808ef5ae61

Code: Select all

ISO_RELEASE=v20.11.9
ISO_CODENAME=ArcoLinuxD
ISO_BUILD=Wed Oct 21 12:43:58 PM CEST 2020

Code: Select all

[alienprober@TheMothership ~]$ inxi -b
System:
  Host: TheMothership Kernel: 5.10.5-arch1-1 x86_64 bits: 64 
  Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.20.5 Distro: ArcoLinux 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING v: Rev 1.xx 
  serial: <superuser required> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 3103 
  date: 06/17/2020 
CPU:
  Info: Quad Core AMD Ryzen 3 3200G with Radeon Vega Graphics [MCP] 
  speed: 1891 MHz min/max: 1400/3600 MHz 
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA TU116 [GeForce GTX 1650 SUPER] driver: nvidia v: 460.32.03 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.10 driver: nvidia resolution: 2560x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GTX 1650 SUPER/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 460.32.03 
Network:
  Device-1: Intel I211 Gigabit Network driver: igb 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 16.38 TiB used: 8.25 TiB (50.4%) 
Info:
  Processes: 375 Uptime: 2h 05m Memory: 15.62 GiB used: 5.74 GiB (36.7%) 
  Shell: Bash inxi: 3.2.01 
nVidia 460.32.03

PLasma

Just update prior to the first post in this thread and did a reboot.

Steps explained in first post.

Thanks
Greetings Humans, I Come In Peace, Now Bend Over.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3755
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] GParted not opening / SDDM not requiring password

Post by erikdubois »

I would have typed

Code: Select all

pkexec gparted
If I needed to type... we use the welcome app to launch gparted.

No issues there since no reports about it.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
AlienProber
Crewman
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2020 4:14 pm

Re: [OPEN] GParted not opening / SDDM not requiring password

Post by AlienProber »

pkexec gparted - Did not launch:

Code: Select all

[alienprober@TheMothership ~]$ pkexec gparted
Error executing command as another user: Not authorized

This incident has been reported.
sudo pkexec gparted - Launched:

Code: Select all

[alienprober@TheMothership ~]$ sudo pkexec gparted
[sudo] password for alienprober: 
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
Unit \xe2\x97\x8f.service does not exist, proceeding anyway.
GParted 1.1.0
configuration --enable-libparted-dmraid --enable-online-resize
libparted 3.3
As for starting GParted from the welcome app there is no option for it. Was unaware you had a welcome app cause it never stated even the first time landing on the desktop. I have it open now and the autostart box is checked, but it does not start with the system.
Last edited by AlienProber on Sat Jan 09, 2021 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Greetings Humans, I Come In Peace, Now Bend Over.

User avatar
AlienProber
Crewman
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2020 4:14 pm

Re: [OPEN] GParted not opening / SDDM not requiring password

Post by AlienProber »

Greetings Humans, I Come In Peace, Now Bend Over.

User avatar
AlienProber
Crewman
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2020 4:14 pm

Re: [OPEN] GParted not opening / SDDM not requiring password

Post by AlienProber »

Just attempted to run Stacer and it didn't load, so I opened Konsole and entered sudo stacer and got then it just sits there doing nothing.

Code: Select all

➜  ~ sudo stacer
[sudo] password for alienprober: 
QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-root
Greetings Humans, I Come In Peace, Now Bend Over.

User avatar
AlienProber
Crewman
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2020 4:14 pm

Re: [OPEN] GParted not opening / SDDM not requiring password

Post by AlienProber »

Got tired of trying to find a solution, so rolled they system back to the 31st. Other than setting up Emby, Sonarr, Radarr, and Jacket I'm where I was before I messed Roots permissions. I evren lucked out with keeping my Plasma tweaks and my selected cursors and theme. Thanks for trying to help, much appreciated.
Greetings Humans, I Come In Peace, Now Bend Over.

Post Reply

Return to “General Questions”