[OPEN] updating Plasma

First check the forums - Do not know where to put it then put it here
Post Reply
dante64ster
Crewman
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 11:50 pm

[OPEN] updating Plasma

Post by dante64ster »

Hello!

The morning update included the latest version of KDE plasma. I'm experiencing the following error:

- system settings: constantly hangs
- cursor: keeps crashing, so I can't set it, because now I have a right mouse cursor again (quite annoying, because it's been a problem for me since last year and since then, and no, I didn't install many icon pointers, because I use a left-handed mouse, I used to to download one, ie 1 mouse pointer, so now I sometimes see the cursor I have chosen, but it is displayed in the browser by default

Operating System: ArcoLinux
KDE Plasma Version: 5.22.0
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.82.0
Qt Version: 5.15.2
Kernel Version: 5.12.9-arch1-1 (64-bit)
Graphics Platform: X11
Processors: 4 × Intel® Core™ i3-3110M CPU @ 2.40GHz
Memory: 7.7 GiB of RAM
Graphics Processor: Mesa DRI Intel® HD Graphics 4000

Hi, Kata

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4128
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] updating Plasma

Post by erikdubois »

I will update now.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4128
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] updating Plasma

Post by erikdubois »

yeah baby

Image

after such a big update your reboot
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4128
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] updating Plasma

Post by erikdubois »

I have rebooted and do not experience anything (yet)
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4128
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] updating Plasma

Post by erikdubois »

There is this I found
left handed mode was a pain in the you know where
it switches right and leftbutton on the mouse

Image
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4128
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] updating Plasma

Post by erikdubois »

I have been playing around
changing all kinds of settings
meanwhile recording
plasma is great
improved astonishingly in regards to recording - no glitches
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

dante64ster
Crewman
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 11:50 pm

Re: [MEGNYITÁS] >>

Post by dante64ster »

The mouse is set to left-handed mode, which is fine, but the cursor is a big black right-handed theme. It's really annoying for a lefty to see the cursor upside down. At least it does for me.

Now even the following programs crash:
-discover
-software installer

I'm glad it works for others, but that's no consolation to me. I've installed my laptop about 6 times in 1 year because after every install when I set myself the global theme, the window theme , so the usual settings and downloading an unfortunate cursor theme the system setup keeps crashing. I can't even change it because of this. But today it crashes at "appearance".
Another time you said I download many themes, but I only download one.
I need to do something about this problem, because I don't want to crash the machine again and reinstall it for this.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4128
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] updating Plasma

Post by erikdubois »

I completely understand you need to tackle this.

The best way is to check if this happens also when install other Plasmas from other distros

In the end it is all Linux and it should just work ... like all the time

When it breaks down for you, you can investigate first on other distros. If it breaks down there too, I would come to the conclusion that is my hardware.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

Post Reply

Return to “General Questions”