[CLOSED] KDE loading screen leading to black screen with cursor upon boot

Post Reply
Xorinet
recruit crewman
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 11:48 am

[CLOSED] KDE loading screen leading to black screen with cursor upon boot

Post by Xorinet »

Having accidentally messed up my /boot/efi partition for ArcoLinux (originally XFCE), I wanted to use a live USB to fix it.

I downloaded a torrent from here (https://www.arcolinux.info/download/arc ... 9-torrent/), made the USB bootable with balenaEtcher, and everything was smooth-sailing. I booted into the live USB and installed ArcoLinux XFCE using the manual partition option, reformatting the /boot/efi section to FAT32 and mounting the original "/" partition with all of my data to / again.
However, when I tried to boot the newly-installed ArcoLinux system, it showed a KDE/Plasma loading screen of some sort, followed by a black screen, and the only visible thing was the cursor (mouse), which was able to move. I was able to access the file manager by clicking on a blue shade-thing that appeared when the mouse moved over the top left of the screen, and then clicking on one of the dropdown options. The good thing was that my data had not been deleted, and was still there.
I managed to get a command prompt open, and collected some data.

Code: Select all

[xorinet@compyooter ~]$ iso
ISO_RELEASE=v21.05.9
ISO_CODENAME=ArcoLinuxL
ISO_BUILD=Thu May  6 09:30:58 AM CEST 2021

Code: Select all

[xorinet@compyooter ~]$ inxi -b
System:    Host: compyooter Kernel: 5.10.47-1-lts x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.22.2 
           Distro: ArcoLinux 
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: Acer product: Swift SF314-41G v: V1.09 serial: <superuser required> 
           Mobo: PK model: Strongbow_PK v: V1.09 serial: <superuser required> UEFI: Insyde v: 1.09 
           date: 11/03/2020 
Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 37.8 Wh (5.1%) condition: 740.5/46.3 Wh (1600.0%) 
CPU:       Info: Quad Core AMD Ryzen 5 3500U with Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx [MT MCP] speed: 1351 MHz 
           min/max: 1400/2100 MHz 
Graphics:  Device-1: AMD Lexa [Radeon 540X/550X/630 / RX 640 / E9171 MCM] driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
           Device-2: AMD Picasso driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
           Device-3: Chicony HD WebCam type: USB driver: uvcvideo 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.11 driver: loaded: amdgpu,ati 
           unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon Vega 8 Graphics (RAVEN DRM 3.40.0 5.10.47-1-lts LLVM 11.1.0) 
           v: 4.6 Mesa 21.0.3 
Network:   Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath10k_pci 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 476.94 GiB used: 115.72 GiB (24.3%) 
Info:      Processes: 312 Uptime: 21m Memory: 5.79 GiB used: 4 GiB (69.1%) Shell: Bash inxi: 3.3.04 

Code: Select all

[xorinet@compyooter ~]$ probe
Probe for hardware ... Ok
Reading logs ... Ok
Uploaded to DB, Thank you!

Probe URL: https://linux-hardware.org/?probe=fe5e126da1
URL above: https://linux-hardware.org/?probe=fe5e126da1

I have tried multiple fixes, including options 1 and 2 of https://www.arcolinuxd.com/1-installati ... inuxd-xfce, but none seem to work.
Additionally, even "update" doesn't seem to work, and provides the errors (after synchronising databases):

Code: Select all

error: duplicated database entry 'perl-http-message'
error: duplicated database entry 'util-linux'
error: duplicated database entry 'ca-certificates'
error: duplicated database entry 'libtorrent-rasterbar'
error: duplicated database entry 'libcap'
and so on, and a bit later, after trying to complete the installation:

Code: Select all

vivaldi: /opt/vivaldi/resources/vivaldi/resources/sd_startpage.png exists in filesystem
vivaldi: /opt/vivaldi/resources/vivaldi/resources/symbol-reload.svg exists in filesystem
vivaldi: /opt/vivaldi/vk_swiftshader_icd.json exists in filesystem
xfce4-screenshooter: /usr/share/locale/fa_IR/LC_MESSAGES/xfce4-screenshooter.mo exists in filesystem
youtube-dl: /usr/lib/python3.9/site-packages/youtube_dl-2021.6.6-py3.9.egg-info/PKG-INFO exists in filesystem
youtube-dl: /usr/lib/python3.9/site-packages/youtube_dl-2021.6.6-py3.9.egg-info/SOURCES.txt exists in filesystem
youtube-dl: /usr/lib/python3.9/site-packages/youtube_dl-2021.6.6-py3.9.egg-info/dependency_links.txt exists in filesystem
There are quite a lot of these (for both examples I have listed only a fraction of the amount of the original errors), hence I don't think it would be possible to delete them all, at least not without some automation.

Are there any possible fixes for this problem? How do I get my previous XFCE desktop as it was before, with all of my configurations? If there is no easy way to do that, is there a way to properly convert to a KDE environment, while preserving data?

Thank you very much in advance.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4240
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] KDE loading screen leading to black screen with cursor upon boot

Post by erikdubois »

Even with this amount of information (thank you for that) it is for both of us just to much work - read guesswork to move ahead

A clean install is what is best for both us.

make sure your personal data is online or an usb

personal configs can be put in there too like ~/.config and ~/.local

Maybe some themes and icons in ~/.icons and ~/.themes
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4240
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] KDE loading screen leading to black screen with cursor upon boot

Post by erikdubois »

This is our general recommendation when installing ArcoLinux.

Copy/paste from Discord - getting started channel

We have three lines when you boot up. You can try BIOS or UEFI boot up depending on your hardware.
Do the installation methodically if you can not install ArcoLinux.

Try first line and try installing ArcoLinux with Calamares - Do NOT install anything extra with Calamares - and reboot.
Try second line and try installing ArcoLinux with Calamares - Do NOT install anything extra with Calamares - and reboot.
Try third line and try installing ArcoLinux with Calamares - Do NOT install anything extra with Calamares - and reboot.
Then remember what works on your hardware.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4240
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [CLOSED] KDE loading screen leading to black screen with cursor upon boot

Post by erikdubois »

Lets close this post.

Make a new issue you need one.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

Post Reply

Return to “Installation issues of ALL ArcoLinux iso's”