[OPEN] Single window has different size of tiled windows

Post Reply
xuser
recruit crewman
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 10:56 pm

[OPEN] Single window has different size of tiled windows

Post by xuser »

Hello, I'm having a problem with configuring the xmonad .hs file, I can configure the tiled windows sizes and borders without a problem but when a window is alone in a workspace it has a different size and doesn't use the same rules for the tilled windows.
For example:
this is the single window size
Image

and this is the windows tilled size
Image

as we can see the single window border is very close to the polybar and the border of the screen while the tilled windows are perfectly aligned, I tried looking at the files and documentation of xmonad to find how to make the single window abide to the same sizes as the tilled ones but with no success.
any tips for how to make a single window have the same size as the tilled ones?

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4025
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] Single window has different size of tiled windows

Post by erikdubois »

I just read this today.

I can not give you advice as I do not understand the issue.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

xuser2
recruit crewman
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:14 am

Re: [OPEN] Single window has different size of tiled windows

Post by xuser2 »

Hello, I'm the one that made this post but I lost the account because I used a disposible email (sorry), my problem is that when there's only one window spawned (for example if I just boot up arco and spawn a terminal) there are less gaps between polybar and the screen edges as we can see here:

Image

(the parts in red are the gaps that I'm referring to)

but if I spawn another window the size of the gaps change (if I spawn another window the gaps persist, so the difference is only between one application opened and more than one application opened):

Image

(the gaps are much more symmetrical when there's more than one window spawned)

I tried changing the gaps on xmonad.hs but it only changes the gaps with more than one window spawned, no changes at all related to when it's just one window.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 4025
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] Single window has different size of tiled windows

Post by erikdubois »

It must be somewhere in your settings.

Our config is fine. I can only say to compare what we have.

See where you set your gaps.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

Post Reply

Return to “BYOI ArcoLinuxB Xmonad”