[SOLVED] B43 module not loading automatically

Post Reply
skeeter
recruit crewman
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:32 pm

[SOLVED] B43 module not loading automatically

Post by skeeter »

I just installed Arcolinux Mate on a Dell Inspiron 1520 laptop with broadcom B4321. All works great but I have to load B43 module after each reboot. Ran mkinitcpio -v shows possibly missing firmware for b43 module but pacman Qi shows it is installed. I added b43 to the "modules" section of mkinitcpio w/o success. Would it be best to add "modconf" to hooks in mkinitcpio and make a file in /etc/modprobe.d for b43 or is there a better solution? Hopefully, I haven't missed a wiki somewhere with this info. Thanks.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3978
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] B43 module not loading automatically

Post by erikdubois »

Do you have 2 network cards?
One conflicting with the other?
Blacklisting can help then.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

skeeter
recruit crewman
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:32 pm

Re: [OPEN] B43 module not loading automatically

Post by skeeter »

This is solved. I dug deeper and found the broadcom-wl.conf under "usr/lib/modprobe.d" had b43 blacklisted so commented it out and it now loads correctly. HTH someone else with an old Dell laptop. Thanks Erik, you got me looking into the blacklisting. ;)

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3978
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] B43 module not loading automatically

Post by erikdubois »

yes it is a learning process.
depending on your hardware you learn more then others... :D
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

albarex
recruit crewman
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 9:56 pm

Re: [SOLVED] B43 module not loading automatically

Post by albarex »

Hi,

this really helped me. But I wonder if there is a way to get rid of this module which blacklisted the b43 module? I do not do want to remember such unimportant stuff in case my WiFi stops working after some update.

PS: life can be easy:

Code: Select all

 # pacman -R broadcom-wl
Last edited by albarex on Thu Mar 11, 2021 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3978
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] B43 module not loading automatically

Post by erikdubois »

https://arcolinuxb.com is where I would go.

Delete the package in the packages file and then build the iso.

You are in full control in ArcoLinux.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

Post Reply

Return to “Networking”