[SOLVED] Trouble with a wired connection

Post Reply
xenmry
Crewman
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 5:06 am

[SOLVED] Trouble with a wired connection

Post by xenmry »

I'm having a problem with my wired connection.
when i unplugged my wired connection and then plugged in, It does not automatically connect.
the only way to have connection is to restart the machine.

IP LINK

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: enp3s0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
link/ether 08:97:98:7b:79:09 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlp4s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP mode DORMANT group default qlen 1000
link/ether 10:63:c8:81:5e:2b brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3757
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] Trouble with a wired connection

Post by erikdubois »

Nothing of the sort happens here like that.

Just tested it on my laptop.

Will have to think on it.

Search the Arch wiki + search your network adapter name to see if it is a hardware issue that is know to the linux community as a whole.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

xenmry
Crewman
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 5:06 am

Re: [OPEN] Trouble with a wired connection

Post by xenmry »

I tried some of the suggestions on the wiki but it did not work.
But i was able to get an idea why my network is acting strange
because it has to listen to 2 sources of commands ...

network manager and ethtool ...

I was to solve my problem by getting rid of ethtool.

Thanks erik.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3757
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] Trouble with a wired connection

Post by erikdubois »

Glad you figured it out.

For future readers I do have ethtool and networkmanager installed and my internet is fine.

Conclusion: might be hardware related or might be something else entirely
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

Post Reply

Return to “BYOI ArcoLinuxB Gnome”