ArcoLinux -D -B 19.1 iso's have been released

[OPEN] desktop environment not working

Post Reply
SaltyBoy
Crewman
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:53 pm
Italy
[OPEN] desktop environment not working

Post by SaltyBoy » Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:35 pm

I delete windows form my pc and installed arch linux ( i didnt know about arcolinux yet, otherwise i would have installed it) and after following all the steps from the youtube channel ( exeprt for the fact that i didnt install intels graphic driver nor yaurt) and i installed xfce and kde plasma. When the login screen appears i can easily swap between xfce and kde plasma and the laptop looks smooth ( hp pavilion 15 , corei7 16 gb ram), but when i try to log in as a user or as a root the pc freezes with a white line on the left corner.In the video 766 on youtube it shows what the solution might be , but the problem is that i cannot even go on the tyy. I have tryed swapping de and user to root, but when i press the keys shown on the video, my login screen freezes and i cannot move the mouse anymore. Does anyone have an idea on how to fix this issue? :D

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 1756
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] desktop environment not working

Post by erikdubois » Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:56 pm

Can you give people more info?

https://arcolinux.com/category/arcolinux/help/

can you give us an inxi -b?

There are currently issues with certain Nvidia cards.

We do not see what you see.

I now understand you see a login display manager - which one lightdm, gdm, sddm, ...

We need to get the complete picture to be able to help.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
and only then use the power of our moderators.

SaltyBoy
Crewman
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:53 pm
Italy
Re: [OPEN] desktop environment not working

Post by SaltyBoy » Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:58 am

I wish i could give you an inxi b and show you the screen record, but i have never seen my desktop environement. I cant even go to the tyy, at this point i am afraid i have installed a broken system. Is there a way to replace it with arcolinux? ( i have lightdm)

User avatar
darknetmatrix
Captain
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:47 pm
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] desktop environment not working

Post by darknetmatrix » Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:52 pm

imo the best thing to do is a completly new install with arcolinux or the arcolinuxB of your choise.
linux user # 527315
I never lose. Either I win, or I learn.

Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

SaltyBoy
Crewman
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:53 pm
Italy
Re: [OPEN] desktop environment not working

Post by SaltyBoy » Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:09 pm

I swear i really want to install but i dont know how to do it. I have another pc with rufus and i can put arcolinux in a usb , but do i just have to stick it in and delete all the previous partitions and recreate them wirh arcolinux to solve the problem? :)

User avatar
darknetmatrix
Captain
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:47 pm
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] desktop environment not working

Post by darknetmatrix » Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:11 pm

Just follow the installer and let calamares do the job, you can always create your partitions with gparted in the live-cd environment
linux user # 527315
I never lose. Either I win, or I learn.

Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

SaltyBoy
Crewman
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:53 pm
Italy
Re: [OPEN] desktop environment not working

Post by SaltyBoy » Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:02 pm

So I downloaded the arcolinuxb iso and installed it on a usb but when i boot from the usb it shows me this image and i cant do anything


Post Reply

Return to “Xfce-4”