ArcoLinux -D -B 19.1 iso's have been released

[SOLVED] xsetwacom > Unable to find an output 'DP-2

Post Reply
vancouver
Crewman
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:16 am
Canada
[SOLVED] xsetwacom > Unable to find an output 'DP-2

Post by vancouver » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:57 pm

I am trying to configure my Wacom tablet to use the second/right of two 4k monitors.

xrandr sees them as:

DP-2 connected 3840x2160+3840+0
DP-4 connected 3840x2160+0+0

xsetwacom set "Wacom Intuos Pro L Pad pad" MapToOutput DP-4

generates this error msg: Unable to find an output 'DP-4'

If anyone happens to be a gfx designer and uses a drawing tablet then I'd appreciate a hint on how I could constrain the tablet to monitor DP-4.
Thanks - v

P.S.
The output of "xsetwacom list" is:
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen stylus id: 9 type: STYLUS
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pad pad id: 10 type: PAD
Wacom Intuos Pro L Finger touch id: 11 type: TOUCH
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen eraser id: 23 type: ERASER
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen cursor id: 24 type: CURSOR.

UPDATE!
There was an easy solution. Instead of DP-X, I just used HEAD-0. Done!
Last edited by vancouver on Sat Feb 16, 2019 8:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 1683
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] xsetwacom > Unable to find an output 'DP-2

Post by erikdubois » Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:28 am

No hardware like that in possession
if anyone can pitch in
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
and only then use the power of our moderators.

vancouver
Crewman
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:16 am
Canada
Re: [SOLVED] xsetwacom > Unable to find an output 'DP-2

Post by vancouver » Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:36 am

This is no longer an issue and the tablet works as expected.
The fix was easy. Instead of DP-2, I used HEAD-0.

The full command is:
xsetwacom --set "device name as per list" MapToOutput HEAD-0

Remember that "xrandr" and "xsetwacom --list" are key to success. - v

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 1683
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [SOLVED] xsetwacom > Unable to find an output 'DP-2

Post by erikdubois » Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:57 am

thanks for sharing the knowledge
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
and only then use the power of our moderators.


Post Reply

Return to “Kernel & Hardware”