ArcoLinux 19.09 iso has been released

[SOLVED] How to use ArcoLinux without the aliases

First check the forums - Do not know where to put it then put it here
Post Reply
sclxusr
recruit crewman
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:06 am
United States of America
[SOLVED] How to use ArcoLinux without the aliases

Post by sclxusr » Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:18 am

Hi.

I want to know if a person can install and use ArcoLinux without all the aliases. If so, how to do so? I like the ISO with XFCE, Openbox, and I3, but I don't want all the software and the aliases that is preset to do what I need.

User avatar
darknetmatrix
Captain
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:47 pm
Contact:
Belgium
Re: How to use ArcoLinux without the aliases

Post by darknetmatrix » Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:53 am

You can remove the surplus software via the package manager (or in a terminal), the aliases are there for ease of use.
linux user # 527315
I never lose. Either I win, or I learn.

Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
muttley
Crewman
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 12:17 pm
Great Britain
Re: How to use ArcoLinux without the aliases

Post by muttley » Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:33 am

If you want to get rid of the aliases then you will find them defined in your .bashrc file (in the root of your home directory). If you just key in "alias" in the terminal it will give you a list of the ones currently defined in there.

Personally I find aliases very useful so give them a go before getting rid of all of them! :D

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2380
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [SOLVED] How to use ArcoLinux without the aliases

Post by erikdubois » Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:24 pm

Muttley's advice is correct.

Topic closed for me
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions”