[SOLVED] No GUI is loaded ...

Post Reply
airbutre
Crewman
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:38 pm
Austria
[SOLVED] No GUI is loaded ...

Post by airbutre » Tue Mar 17, 2020 10:04 pm

Hey, guys!
I'm not quite sure, if this feature is discussed right now. After booting i'm getting this funny screen (it should be tho login-screen):

Image

After rebooting several times, i will get the normal login-screen (approx. 1 out of 5 tries).
Is it a feature or is this a nvidia-bug?

cu
airbutre

OS: ArcoLinuxB-deepin-min v20.3.4
Kernel: 5.5.9-arch1-2
Uptime: 6 mins
Packages: 1239 (pacman)
Shell: bash 5.0.16
Resolution: 1680x1050
DE: Deepin
WM: Mutter(DeepinGala)
Theme: Arc-Dark [GTK2/3]
Icons: Mint-X [GTK2/3]
Terminal: termite
Terminal Font: Monospace 11
CPU: Intel i7-3770K (8) @ 3.900GHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
Memory: 1291MiB / 7926MiB
Last edited by airbutre on Sat Mar 21, 2020 10:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] No GUI is loaded ...

Post by erikdubois » Wed Mar 18, 2020 2:45 pm

Try the different options at the boot up screen.



you can even edit these lines that will help. Use tab and change the code - enter and it is used
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

edmorbius
Crewman
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2020 10:12 pm
Canada
Re: [OPEN] No GUI is loaded ...

Post by edmorbius » Wed Mar 18, 2020 7:36 pm

I am not sure if this is the same problem that I had but there must have been a kernel update and my nvidia drivers came from the AUR. I had to reinstall the nvidia driver to fix the issue. For me:

Code: Select all

yay -S nvidia-390xx
Make sure you chose the correct nvidia driver because I need the legacy drivers.

airbutre
Crewman
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:38 pm
Austria
Re: [OPEN] No GUI is loaded ...

Post by airbutre » Fri Mar 20, 2020 9:14 am

edmorbius wrote:
Wed Mar 18, 2020 7:36 pm
Make sure you chose the correct nvidia driver because I need the legacy drivers.
Thanks, pal.
Could you give me a hint, on how to get my correct nvidia driver?

cu
airbutre

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] No GUI is loaded ...

Post by erikdubois » Fri Mar 20, 2020 9:33 am

Yes check the arch wiki or arcolinux.com
lots of nvidia stuff
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

airbutre
Crewman
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:38 pm
Austria
Re: [OPEN] No GUI is loaded ...

Post by airbutre » Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:58 pm

That's not the quick & helpful answer i was waiting for, erik!
Thanks anyway.

cu
airbutre

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] No GUI is loaded ...

Post by erikdubois » Fri Mar 20, 2020 2:26 pm

Lol not every question has a quick and easy fix :oops:
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

airbutre
Crewman
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:38 pm
Austria
Re: [SOLVED] No GUI is loaded ...

Post by airbutre » Sat Mar 21, 2020 10:41 am

Changed the nouveau-driver to the nvidia-driver and it works. Don't know why, but for me the problem is solved.

cu
airbutre


Post Reply

Return to “Graphical Drivers (Nvidia,...)”