[CLOSED] no Desktop Environment installed during the installation in Calamares

First check the forums - Do not know where to put it then put it here
Post Reply
eglar
Crewman
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 10:33 am

[CLOSED] no Desktop Environment installed during the installation in Calamares

Post by eglar »

Hi, I have problems installing arco linux. When I choose the DE to install (in my case it is gde and gnome), after the installation process is finised and I reboot there is no DE installed, no gdm installed. And because there is no internet connection, I can't do anything really with that installation.

I do need some help with it please.
Last edited by eglar on Tue Oct 13, 2020 7:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OEPN] no DE installed during installation

Post by erikdubois »

It is a netinstall.

No internet is nothing.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

eglar
Crewman
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 10:33 am

Re: [OEPN] no DE installed during installation

Post by eglar »

If you mean that I have to be connected to the internet during installation, then I am connected. Before I start the calamaris, I connect to my wifi.

Could you please explain more what is the right way to install?
Last edited by eglar on Mon Oct 12, 2020 5:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

eglar
Crewman
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 10:33 am

Re: [OEPN] no DE installed during installation

Post by eglar »

ok, I tried again to install arco linux D in the virtual machine. All I get after installation is the command line. I don't understand, what is the point in Calamares, if whatever I choose to install there does not get installed? I have spend a few days reading articles and watching tutorials on this project site, and still can't understand, why this installation doesn't work. I can install arch linux on my machine, which is what I am running now. Arco linux should be simpler - isn't it the idea behind the project? It seems to me that it is even more difficult than arch.

I still hope that someone will point me in the right direction of how to install desktop invironment during arco linux installation.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OEPN] no DE installed during installation

Post by erikdubois »

Stay in one post and do not open any more posts about this.

We continue in this article.

viewtopic.php?f=120&t=2250

This one is closed.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

Post Reply

Return to “General Questions”