ArcoLinux 19.09 iso has been released

[OPEN] Is it possible to get a full screen with Firefox in Xmonad

Post Reply
eesau
Crewman
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:04 am
Finland
[OPEN] Is it possible to get a full screen with Firefox in Xmonad

Post by eesau » Fri Sep 06, 2019 2:07 pm

Very specific, and not the most important stuff again, but Firefox doesn't go 100% full screen in Xmonad. If i press F in Youtube or something like that, it goes full screen kind of, but Xmobar is still visible. F11 does the same. Other browsers works as they should.

This is known issue with Xmonad, not a bug in ArcoLinux, but if you guys can help, i'm pleased. I found some hacks online, but either they didn't work or i couldn't do them properly, hard to say.

eesau
Crewman
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:04 am
Finland
Re: [OPEN] Is it possible to get a full screen with Firefox in Xmonad

Post by eesau » Mon Oct 07, 2019 3:35 pm

Ok, found something called ToggleStruts. Added these lines in my xmonad.hs:

Code: Select all

-- Xmobar toggle
, ((modMask, xK_b), sendMessage ToggleStruts)
...and it works, but not properly. My Xmobar is still mostly visible, the keybinding hides it only partly. Looks like this:
Image

I thought that my 4K monitor is to blame maybe, because i've set Xmobar fonts much bigger and did other adjustments with the OS too, but i just tried it in Virtualbox with vanilla ArcoLinux Xmonad and it didn't work properly there either.

I'll keep digging, to be continued...

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2538
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] Is it possible to get a full screen with Firefox in Xmonad

Post by erikdubois » Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:15 am

Tried that one too...
without success yet



Need to figure what to change and what to keep on our config... in haskell
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

eesau
Crewman
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:04 am
Finland
Re: [OPEN] Is it possible to get a full screen with Firefox in Xmonad

Post by eesau » Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:30 am

Yep, didn't work for me either OOTB. I'm now in Bspwm, but i have Xmonad in VB, i'll try to dig a bit deeper into it at some point.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2538
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] Is it possible to get a full screen with Firefox in Xmonad

Post by erikdubois » Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:26 am

same here - on hold for now
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.


Post Reply

Return to “BYOI ArcoLinuxB Xmonad”